Do we agree, to disagree?

Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

Do we agree, to disagree?

When our heart doesn't follow, urgghh burn out, I need healing!

When I was a pupil during the early day of my career, I knew absolutely nothing. What I could do is listen to what my senior said and did whatever told me to.

But hey, we also asked to raise our opinion. They say, because discussion matters. Eventually, we will make an agreement on how things will be done. It requires everybody to commit to the result of the discussion.

For these past few months, I have just realized what the word "commit" truly means. You can find more the details here, I believe the one that we all mean is this "to carry into action deliberately".

But, what if our heart doesn't go with the discussion? We feel that this discussion is a waste of time because they started it all wrong. Committing to something requires our heart and passion, what if we do not agree with that? Burn out, huh? Need some healing?

For me, I was told to be bold about something I believe until someone gives a reasonable argument, then we change our beliefs little by little. A bit frustrating to be honest, even for myself. But what if the argument is completely unreasonable for us but everybody agrees with them? Am I wrong here?

That's when I first heard about the idea of agree to disagree.

As a newbie, I might be wrong about what it truly is. The Wikipedia's explanation about this is when all parties tolerate but do not accept the opposing positions. In my opinion, this is what we can do when we happen to be in this position in a professional working situation.

The discussion must come to an end, because we have a limit to perform the discussion. The business keeps going on during our debate, but it needs our discussion to be resolved fast. Not everyone agrees but put simply the best bet and asks everybody to commit, at least for now.

There always be another time. I mean, if you could not prove your argument now, there will always be another time to convince others. In a discussion, everyone's voices are not treated equally. Frankly, it might happen when you sit close enough with your leader, making your leader listen to you more. Or, your microphone is not performing well when discussing over an online meeting.

Act professional. Speaking your idea is an act of professionalism, opposite to silence. As a white collar, you are paid to express your idea. When you do not speak, you might consider changing your career to a blue-collar role. But hey, it is not that bad to express an opposite idea to others. Most of the time, I feel relieved when listening to the opposite idea.

So guys, next time we run to a discussion, do we agree to disagree?

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Satria H R Harsono by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!